Getting Gutsy In 2013 And Even Gutsier in 2014

Getting gutsy is all about stepping outside your comfort zone to reach your goals. I’m participating in Jessica Lawlor’s #GetGutsy Essay Contest. To get involved and share your own gutsy story, check out this post for contest details.

Getting gutsy is all about stepping out of your comfort zone with the hopes of learning something new or taking a step towards achieving a goal. I would never have imagined myself as someone ‘gutsy,’  but in 2013 I surprised even myself and got REALLY gutsy.

I had my first internship in 2013 with For Kids Sake in Carbondale, which supports and raises funds for orphanages and schools in Bangladesh. I was so nervous when I started, but ended up loving it! I did everything from flyer all over town to introduce and involve Greek life at my school with our main events. I was most involved with the raffle we held in partnership with the Annual Art Auction, selling tickets prior to and at the event. The internship was an amazing experience but an eye opener nonetheless. I met so many wonderful people and got my first taste of working in a non-profit.

DSC_2948Selling raffle tickets at the Annual Art Auction.

I also ran my first 5K in March! A sorority sister of mine had recently lost family members to Colon Caner and entered to participate in the Colon Cancer 5K. A group of us decided to enter and run it with her in support. I am proud to say that I had finished in just under 30 minutes, which is a big accomplishment for me! I am #362 in the picture below.

IMG_0795The group of Delta Zeta’s that ran the Colon Caner 5K.

I got really gutsy and let my friend, Lauren, take me to the shooting range. I was terrified of holding the shotgun, let alone shooting it. I listened attentively as she explained how to properly hold the gun, knowing that this was a very important step. Butterflies formed in my stomach when Lauren showed me how to stand and turn the safety off. Soon enough it was my turn to shoot the target directly ahead of me. I took my stance, aimed, clicked the safety off, and shot. Regardless of being warned, I was not prepared for the kickback of the 12-gage shotgun. I flew back as my hands  shook, almost dropping the shotgun. On that day, I had gone from never even touching a gun to properly shooting a shotgun all thanks to my friend Lauren. I have to admit, it was exhilarating to kick that anxiety to the curb.

IMG_3824Holding my first shotgun!

Lastly, I ran for President of my Public Relations Student Society of America chapter after being a member for only two semesters. After being selected, I got gutsy and attended our National Assembly all by myself! I flew to New Mexico and walked into the event without knowing anyone! Looking back, I am glad that I went by myself because I had the chance to meet and connect with so many other PRSSA members. This past year I have realized just how important PRSSA is to me and just how much it is helping me advance as a public relations student.

IMG_1035

________________________________________________________________

I am glad that I got gutsy in 2013, and I plan on getting even gutsier in 2014!

I dedicate 2014 to advancing as an aspiring public relations professional. I will continue to network and attend conferences, and hopefully hold another internship or two. I am proud to say that my first gutsy move in 2014 was booking a flight to Boston for a PRSSA Regional Conference! While there I hope to connect with other PRSSA chapters as well as PR firms in Boston.

I cannot wait to see just how gutsy I can get in 2014!

 

One thought on “Getting Gutsy In 2013 And Even Gutsier in 2014

  1. Pingback: Get Inspired With Get Gutsy Week - Jessica Lawlor

Leave a comment